Gennaro and Michael have their sights on the leaderboard of the Sasol GTC Championship at Zwartkops

Sandton, South Africa:  After three consecutive victories at the start of the season, Gennaro Bonafede (Sasol BMW GTC) leads the championship by 36 points going into round four on Friday, 16th June 2017, at the Zwartkops Raceway. 

Bonafede is determined to maintain his championship lead at all costs with his major task being to win races at his team’s home track next Friday.

Simon Moss (Engen Xtreme Audi GTC) clings onto the second step of the points log by the skin of his teeth, just 28 points ahead of his illustrious team-mate and defending Sasol GTC Champion, Michael Stephen. Early season niggles in the #1 Audi GTC saw Moss banking points as he emerged as Bonafede’s main rival. Stephen, a tactically-sound competitor, has leapt up the order and re-established himself as the force to be reckoned with in the championship after claiming the number one spot in the last three races.

Johan Fourie, in the EPS Couriers BMW GTC is fourth in the standings after a consistent season that has seen him claimed four third-place positions, one fourth and a single non-finish after a wheel broke at Kyalami. He is on a mission to bag maximum points at his happy hunting ground.

The two factory Volkswagen Jetta GTC drivers, of Mathew Hodges and Daniel Rowe have provided some of the closest and exciting racing in the 2017 Sasol GTC Championship to date. Door-to-door racing has been the order of the day, with crowds of spectators cheering their efforts as they race for podium positions. Unfortunately their close racing did not result in maximum points, but the VW-pair is placed fifth and sixth on the log respectively.

Robert Wolk, in the second Sasol BMW GTC, enjoyed success at the last race and was definitely a morale booster for the team.

The “Rustenburg Rocket”, Michael van Rooyen had a demanding start to the season in his RCS BMW GTC. Combining his racing skills with some luck could earn him some valuable points this coming weekend at Zwartkops. 


Behind the GTC premier class on the start line is the talented rising SA motorsport stars, racing in close competition in their class and provide supreme spectator value.  Keagan Masters, at 17, the youngest on the grid, leads the championship standings in his Volkswagen Golf GTi. Mandla Mdakane joined the list of winners this year and both factory VW drivers will be a force to be reckoned with.

Trevor Bland (VW Golf GTi) is keeping the factory squad honest by pushing them to the limit and is on the brink of his first victory, taking a string of podium placings to lie second on the championship log.

The car to beat in East London was the Ferodo MINI John Cooper Works driven by Bradley Liebenberg, who gave the team a double victory last month. With confidence sky-high, more victories are on the cards. Chris Shorter, in the Champion MINI JCW will continue to strive for success in the midst of highly competitive racing. .

Charl Smalberger (iCorp VW Golf GTI), Iain Stevenson (Comsol Golf GTi) and Dayne Angel (Honda Civic Type R) adds variety to the GTC 2 field

The Sasol GTC Championship features an inverted grid for race two, mixing up the running order providing close and unpredictable racing.  

On track action gets underway on Thursday (15 June) with three free practice sessions followed by qualifying at 15:45. Official warm-up sessions are scheduled for early Friday(16 June) morning, followed by a 10-minute grid-walk at 11h20. The first 17-lap race starts at 11h30 with the exciting reverse grid second heat scheduled for 14h15.

Tickets are available from Computicket and

Follow us on Twitter using #SasolGTC for the latest Sasol GTC Championship news or visit to access the 2017 racing calendar.